Latest news:

PFA Division 1 Team of the Season 03-04

By Mark Sugar
October 19 2005

The PFA Members have voted for their Team of the Season for Division 1.Did any Royals players make it into the final selection or once again their achievements this season went unoticed? The PFA

The PFA (Players Football Association) annual end of season dinner was held last night at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London with the Division 1 Team of the Season being announced.

Representing Reading at the awards ceremony were American goalie Marcus Hahnemann, Andy Hughes, the out of favour Kevin Watson, Lloyd Owusu and England U21 midfielder Steve Sidwell.

The only player who really stood a chance in my opinion of making the team was Steve Sidwell, who has had a phenomenal season in the center of midfield. His performances have alerted Charlton, Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Celtic and Rangers.

But Sidwell was unlucky not to be named amongst the division's best this season. Below is the team in full with their respective clubs in brackets.

Goalkeeper. Robert Green (Norwich City)

Right Back. Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United)

Center Back. Danny Gabbidon (Cardiff City)

Center Back. Malky Mackay (Norwich City)

Left Back. Julio Arca (Sunderland)

Right Midfield. Jason Koumas (West Brom)

Center Midfield. Tim Cahill (Millwall)

Center Midfield. Michael Carrick (West Ham United)

Left Midfield. Andy Reid (Nottingham Forest)

Center Forward. Robert Earnshaw (Cardiff City)

Center Forward. Andy Johnson (Crystal Palace)

Congratulations to all the players selected.

Also congratulations to Dario Gradi, Crewe Alexandra Manager on his life time achievement award. Fully deserved so well done.

Agree with the team selection? Why not visit the Message Board and name your team. 



View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:


Reading FC latest threads