Latest News:

Five Join Hall of Fame

January 5 2013

Five more of the greatest players to pull on the Blue of Ipswich Town have been added to the club's hall of fame.

The five latest additions are George Burley, who totted up 500 games for the club before spending seven years as manager at Portman Road, FA Cup winner Alan Hunter, UEFA Cup winner and Dutch maestro Arnold Muhren, 61/62 League title winner Roy Stephenson and former captain Billy Baxter.

Previously Frans Thijssen, John Elsworthy, Kevin Beattie, Jimmy Leadbetter, John Wark, Mick Mills, Ray Crawford and Ted Phillips have been inducted into the Town Hall of Fame.

In addition to the five inductees to the hall of fame, Sir Bobby Robson and former secretary to Sir Bobby and Sir Alf Ramsey, Pat Godbold were handed merit awards.

Story originally published on 23/03/2009 on

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:


Ipswich Town Poll

Which area of the team needs strengthening the most?

See results > Submit >>