Latest News:

Phil Neal Managerial Profile

By Mark Heys
September 2 2005

NAME: Phil Neal

BORN: 29th February 1951, Irchester, Northamptonshire, England

APPOINTED: December 1985

DEPARTED: May 1992

PLAYING CAREER: Northampton Town, Liverpool, Bolton Wanderers

MANAGERIAL CAREER: Bolton Wanderers, Coventry City, Manchester City, Cardiff City

HIGHEST LEAGUE POSITION AT BOLTON: 4th in Division 3 1990-1991

BEST FA CUP POSITION AT BOLTON: 5th round, 1991-1992


ASSISTED BY: Colin Irwin (1986-1987), Mick Brown (1987-1992)

PLAYERS BOUGHT: Paul Atkinson (Oldham Athletic), Peter Barnes (Manchester City), Michael Brown (Shrewsbury Town), Phil Brown (Halifax Town), David Burke (Crystal Palace), Jeff Chandler (Derby County), Chic Charnley (St Mirren), Paul Comstive (Burnley), Barry Cowdrill (West Brom), Dean Crombie (Grimsby Town), Tony Cunningham (Bury), Andy Dibble (Manchester City), Steve Elliott (Walsall), David Felgate (Grimsby Town), Mark Gavin (Carlisle United), Scott Green (Derby County), John Gregory (Plymouth Argyle), Gary Henshaw (Grimsby Town), Nigel Jemson (Nottingham Forest), Glenn Keeley (Colchester United), Tony Kelly (Shrewsbury Town), Andy Kennedy (Watford), Sammy Lee (Southampton), Jason Lydiate (Manchester United), Neil Matthews (Grimsby Town), Ally Maxwell (Motherwell), Andy May (Huddersfield Town), Jason McAteer (Marine), David McKearney (Prescot Cables), Trevor Morgan (Bristol City), Mark Patterson (Bury), Gerry Peyton (Everton), Tony Philliskirk (Preston North End), Martin Pike (Sheffield United), David Reeves (Sheffield Wednesday), Mike Ring (Hull City), Stuart Ripley (Middlesbrough), Andy Roscoe (Liverpool), Kevin Rose (Hereford United), Mike Salmon (Stockport County), Robbie Savage (Bradford City), Mark Seagraves (Manchester City), Ian Stevens (Lancaster City), Stuart Storer (Everton), John Thomas (Preston North End), Andy Walker (Celtic)

PLAYERS SOLD: Sam Allardyce (Preston North End), Paul Allen (Southport), Peter Barnes (Sunderland), Graham Bell (Tranmere Rovers), Nicky Brookman (Stockport County), Tony Caldwell (Bristol City), Ian Callaghan (Northwich Victoria), Jeff Chandler (Cardiff City), Paul Comstive (Chester City), Barry Cowdrill (Rochdale), Dean Crombie (Lincoln City), David Cross (Limassol), Tony Cunningham (Rotherham United), Steve Elliott (Bury), Wayne Entwistle (Stockport County), Simon Farnworth (Bury), Paul Fitzpatrick (Bristol City), Mark Gavin (Rochdale), Gareth Gray (Rochdale), Asa Hartford (Stockport County), Gary Henshaw (Swansea City), Paul Hughes (Hyde United), Mike Jeffrey (Doncaster Rovers), Warren Joyce (Preston North End), Glenn Keeley (Chorley), David McKearney (Northwich Victoria), Trevor Morgan (Shelbourne), Ian Mullineux (Horwich RMI), George Oghani (Burnley), Jimmy Phillips (Glasgow Rangers), Dean Roberts (Exeter City), Kevin Rose (Rochdale), Simon Rudge (Hyde United), Mike Salmon (Wrexham), Derek Scott (Colne Dynamoes), Ian Stevens (Bury), Dave Sutton (Rochdale), John Thomas (West Brom), Steve Thompson (Luton Town), Roger Walker (Silema Wanderers)

HONOURS: Promotion to Division 3 1988, 1989 Sherpa Van Trophy Winners

View a Printer Friendly version of this Story.

Bookmark or share this story with:


Bolton Wanderers Poll

What position does Gary Megson need to strengthen next?

See results > Submit >>