Dons Online
Defensive duo included in team of the year
By Oli
April 27 2009

Dean Lewington (left)

PFA's League One Team of the Year, as voted for by the players, includes two Dons, with centre-back Sean O'Hanlon and left-back and captain Dean Lewington receiving the honour, the latter for the second consecutive season.

O'Hanlon has enjoyed an excellent season despite the loss of Danny Swailes, with whom he formed such a strong partnership in League Two, to injury for almost the entire season. The Southport-born defender has helped the Dons, along with Spaniard Miguel Llera, to keep the second meanest defensive record in League One this season. He collected both the Football Writers' and the MKDSA's Player of the Year award at the club's own evening recently.

Captain Dean Lewington, as expected, has made the step up to League One with ease, and few could argue there is a better left-back outside the Championship, a statement with which the PFA seems to agree. Remarkably, having made over 200 appearances already for the club, Lewington doesn't turn 25 until May. He was reportedly the subject of a £400,000 bid from Championship playoff chasers Swansea City in January but the club held on to a man who has remained loyal to the club through good times and bad.

The League One PFA Team of the Year for the 2008/09 season in full was:

Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe United); Neil Eardley (Oldham Athletic), Jack Hobbs (Leicester City), Sean O'Hanlon (MK Dons), Dean Lewington (MK Dons); Chris Taylor (Oldham Athletic), Fabian Delph (Leeds United), Matt Oakley (Leicester City), George Boyd (Peterborough United); Rickie Lambert (Bristol Rovers), Matty Fryatt (Leicester City).